Next Steps - Learning Digital Skills

We hope you enjoy the engagement with the broad NMIS Community. While your own institution or employer will offer you more training and development and many of the open web offers of training development and certification are detailed on this site, we thought it was worth listing some of the more formal opportunities for further study here. The list will include qualifications for those who wish a deeper understanding of digital pedagogy and those who wish to learn more about the application of new technologies for learning.

Future-proofing the Manufacturing Industry – courses now available. NMIS have developed a range of courses to suit every section of the manufacturing industry – from boardroom to shop floor. To learn how you can get up to speed with digital transformation and benefit your or your company’s future, visit the NMIS CPD website.

City of Glasgow College logo

Group award with four units:

  • Developing e-learning lessons FA53 35
  • Developing online content F9Y0 35
  • Deliver and Monitor Learners’ Progress in an e-Learning Lesson F9XX 35
  • Facilitate and assess learning F9Y1 35

Check for course availability.

This course provides free learning materials on integrating blending learning principles into your teaching practice. The course is aim at training working in any field and includes sections covering vocational education and apprenticeships.

The learning content is free but you can choose to pay to gain access to the final exam and official accreditation.

Course materials are developed by experts from the University of Leeds and UCL Institute of Education.

6 online, short, mix and match courses

  1. Identifying Digital Needs
  2. Exploring Digital Resources
  3. Developing Digital Assessment
  4. Supporting Digital Learning
  5. Planning Digital Learning
  6. Developing Digital Teaching Skills

Course Dates: The six courses are repeated six times throughout the year.

Assessment: Choice of course assessment- take a brief Quick Check and get your College Certificate, or take a more indepth assessment and bank this towards the PDA Technology Enhanced Learning and Teaching.

The Certified Educator Level 1 course teaches educators the fundamentals of using Google for Education. It covers Google Docs, Forms, Classroom, Drive, Earth, YouTube and more. At the end of the course you can opt to pay for the exam and gain Certified Educator status.

Certified Educator Level 2 covers more advanced uses of apps and tools. It also include materials on learning models, workflows and the use of classroom data.

Certified Trainer is for those that want to teach others how to use Google for Education products.

This full or part-time course "is aimed primarily at working professionals who wish to develop their knowledge and understanding of digital learning design. It will enable you to develop an understanding of learning technologies and their application to effective learning, as well as acquire and critically apply knowledge and skills in digital learning development and implementation."

The course covers:

  • Learning design
  • User experience design
  • Learning in a networked world
  • Digital assessment
  • A project on applying technologies for learning
Certified Member of Association of Learning Technologists logo

CMALT (certified member of the Association of Learning Technologists) is a portfolio-based professional accreditation scheme developed by ALT to enable people whose work involves learning technology to have their experience and capabilities certified by peers and demonstrate that they are taking a committed and serious approach to their professional development.